Post by @jorijn
I always (wrongfully) assumed that removing remote media exempted accounts that were being followed by local accounts. It turns out it doesn't, and resulted in local users running into the rate-limited media proxy regularly.
I'm refreshing remote media now, and re-downloading media with a limit of 1 year.
I suppose I'll own a copy of the internet once it's done.